hotels with a view in Urbana, IL

1. Senator’s Inn~Wellness~Business Center & Pub (2-star hotel)

About this hotel

801 N Dunlap Ave, Savoy, IL 61874(217) 352-0002

Things You Need to Know

  • 6 min drive to Meadowbrook Park
  • 54 min drive to Central Illinois Regional Airport
  • Guests mentioned “Karaoke” 13 times
  • Guests praised the nightlife

Feedback From Real Customers

Rick Kritschil

Sharry worked with me from beginning to end to make sure my stay was the best experience for a short term stay place The people living there were great Respectful of everyone else and kept common areas clean

If you need temporary short term or a place as a base because of a lot of travel that is reasonable, safe for your belongings, and has more of a family type atmosphere then this is your place

Brian J.

Nice little bar Owner and bartender were very friendly Nice small town atmosphere and had a blast singing karaoke

Drink prices are very fair and lots to choose from I plan to return! Stopped in late with family that lived in the area and we were staying at the hotel next door, so this was convenient Didn’t plan to stay as long, but the atmosphere and service was great!

John Reitz

I’ve been living here 2 years and find it a wonderful place to live for any amount of time The surroundings are charming and it is a very restful and secure place Lori and Shari, the women who run it, are always very pleasant, friendly and accommodating, going out of their way to make sure everyone is comfortable

Its like living in a mansion for very little money

2. Holiday Inn Express & Suites Urbana-Champaign (U of I Area), an IHG Hotel (3-star hotel)

About this hotel

Off Interstate 74, this modern hotel is a 3-minute drive from Urbana Country Club, 6 minutes from University of Illinois campus, and 2.5 miles from Downtown Champaign.The subdued rooms offer desks, flat-screen TVs with cable channels and coffeemakers. There’s also free WiFi and high-pressure showerheads in the bathrooms, while kids 19 and under stay free with an adult. Suites add separate living areas and kitchenettes with microwaves and minifridges.Amenities include a free hot breakfast buffet, an indoor pool/hot tub and fitness and business centers, plus free parking and university shuttles.

Things You Need to Know

  • Guests praised the clean rooms and the beds
  • 2 min drive to Busey Woods
  • Guests praised the restaurant
  • Guests praised the indoor pool and the hot tub

Feedback From Real Customers

Kelsey Michalsen

I was here for a work trip/work conference at the University Check in was very easy My room was clean, the bed was super comfortable, and it was nice and quiet despite the hotel being fully booked with our conference and softball and baseball games in town

The pool and hot tub were fantastic Did not use the exercise room (normally I do, I was so beat from my conference I usually went right up to bed) Breakfast had a lot of choices and it was all tasty Definitely recommend for your stay in Champaign area and I will consider using Holiday Inn from now on in the future!!

Mary “auntem”

The evening desk clerk had no personality, the morning person was much nicer This place is right off the highway, why I chose it When I opened the door to the room the disinfectant the hotel uses was overwhelming and offensive

The room had no hairdryer to which the evening clerk told me they don’t provide them They only thing I liked was the complimentary breakfast and a very nice server

3. Drury Inn & Suites Champaign (3-star hotel)

About this hotel

This unassuming hotel is 2 miles from the Orpheum Children’s Science Museum and the circa-1926 Virginia Theatre, and 5 miles from the University of Illinois Arboretum’s gardens and flowers.The streamlined rooms offer free Wi-Fi and flat-screen TVs, plus microwaves, minifridges and coffeemakers. Suites add separate living rooms with pull-out sofas.Hot breakfast and evening socials are free, as is parking. Other amenities include an indoor/outdoor pool, a hot tub and a fitness room. A business center and meeting spaces are available.

Things You Need to Know

  • Guests praised the clean rooms and the beds
  • 7 min drive to Alto Vineyards Champaign
  • 46 min drive to Central Illinois Regional Airport
  • Guests praised the friendly service
  • Guests praised the breakfast
  • One of the few hotels in the area with a hot tub
  • Guests liked the indoor pool
  • Guests praised the bar

Feedback From Real Customers

Breezie Holiday

The staff has excellent customer service skills, Melissa and Liz were fantastic The room was very clean and big The hot tub was perfect and the indoor and outdoor swimming pools were clean

The dining room was spacious and extremely clean The hotel provides free breakfast, dinner and 3 alcoholic beverages for FREE Well it’s not free really but it’s included with your stay My family had a blast and this is our second time staying here and will definitely return soon The Drury Inn is the place to be

Katie Thurston

I want to preface this with this is ZERO reflection on the staff who were absolutely wonderfulWe checked in and went to our room Upon entering I could clearly see that it was outdated

That was not an issue though We dropped our belongings and headed out Upon our return, late at night, I found tons of thingsOur room was slapped together and the bathroom was DIRTY You could clearly see the peeling paint, bubbles of what appeared to be mold UNDER the paint that was used as a bandaid The caulk around the top of the shower was disgusting and also peeling and dirtyThe bathroom door was broken The safety latch of The room was broken Cracks in walls just covered with paint The closet door handle was replaced but no paint was done so it looked odd The fridge did not keep items cold and we lost food to spoilageAll of the issues were things I would consider a maintenance issue I did take pictures so that I would NOT be charged for issues that I did not do Especially after seeing other reviewsWe were here during a tournament and move in week for college so no other rooms we available and by the time we noticed all the other issues, it was late We stayed, I would not stay again thoughThe free breakfast was decent The kids definitely enjoyed the waffles The front desk was great as well as everyone else I ran intoHopefully corporate does something about these issues for future guests

Chris Mrozowski

My first stay at a Drury and I am very impressed, will choose againExcellent value and clean The employees are friendly, hard working and accommodating

(I have not been compensated for this review, other than the complimentary evening meal and drinks that’s included , good breakfast included as well)

4. Holiday Inn Express & Suites Rantoul, an IHG Hotel (3-star hotel)

About this hotel

Set off Interstate 57 in an area featuring casual eateries and a shopping plaza, this relaxed budget hotel is 2 miles from the Hap Parker Family Aquatic Center and 15 miles from the University of Illinois Urbana–Champaign.Warm rooms provide complimentary Wi-Fi and HDTVs, as well as minifridges, microwaves and coffeemakers. Suites add sofabeds and/or interconnecting bedrooms. Kids age 19 and under (2 per room) stay at no extra cost with an adult.Parking is free, as is hot breakfast served in an understated dining room. Other amenities include an indoor pool, a hot tub and a 24-hour gym, plus coin-operated laundry facilities.

Things You Need to Know

  • Guests praised the rooms
  • 14 min walk to Rantoul Family Sports Complex
  • Guests praised the service
  • Guests praised the indoor pool

Feedback From Real Customers

Jill Rovani

My top 3 things for rating are bed, cleanliness, and pillows All 3 were excellent Nice breakfast

Small fitness room Didn’t see pool/spa, but know there is one We must have had a special needs room because there was a doorbell for deaf/HOH Bathroom was more than large enough for a wheelchair Lots of bars on wall in tub/shower area and by toilet Door had peep holes at 2 levels

Liz B

We traveled from New York for business This was close to the highway and easy access When we got there it was 9 am and the front desk was amazing and she put us on the 4th floor so that it was quiet for us to sleep and we didn’t have to wait for check in time

Very clean room no smells except for freshness We put the window shades down and slept a few hours in a very comfortable bed When we got up we went to the hot tub and enjoyed that Shower is very roomie and nice water pressure with a rain shower The next morning the front desk gentleman added our credits because we forgot to add the morning before We did not eat breakfast by our choice but checked it out before we left and they had a nice selection for breakfast We would highly recommend this hotel Loved our stay

Ryan Harrigan

Travel teams travel elsewhere, this hotel is built on a sports complex geared to 10-15 year olds the staff was horrible with kids Arrive early for breakfast Breakfast on the second day ran out we were told more food would come we waited 45 minutes and then were told it was to late and nothing would be served but there was oatmeal and cereal left but the best part only knives were left for utensils

No coffee as well on day 2 with no answer to why Thankfully there was a McDonald’s close by Beds were comfy but walls are very thin thankfully quiet time is now 8pm-7am

5. Eastland Suites Hotel & Conference Center – Urbana/Champaign (2-star hotel)

About this hotel

Off the intersection of I-74 and US-45, this casual hotel is 3.4 miles from both the Krannert Center for the Performing Arts and the University of Illinois.The low-key rooms offer free WiFi and TVs, as well as microwaves and minifridges. Suites add sitting areas with sofas. Some have kitchens, separate living rooms, fireplaces and/or balconies. Upgraded suites also have whirlpool tubs.Complimentary perks include a hot breakfast buffet, evening drinks and snacks, and local shuttle service. There’s an indoor heated pool and a fitness center, along with 6 meeting rooms.

Things You Need to Know

  • Guests praised the large, clean rooms and the kitchenettes
  • 2 min drive to Anita Purves Nature Center
  • Guests liked the friendly service
  • Guests praised the restaurant
  • Guests praised the breakfast
  • One of the few hotels in the area with an indoor pool
  • One of the few hotels in the area with a bar

Feedback From Real Customers

Sparky #

This place is a real surprise The place is quite dated so don’t expect ultra modern here! But the rooms are very generous in size and quite clean The bed was not the most comfortable but it wasn’t the worst either

We had a good night’s sleep Breakfast was a disappointment The attendant seemed more attentive to visiting with a friend than attending to Breakfast so many trays were empty The cream was curdled making a coffee impossible The juice dispenser delivered water, not juice

Erin S

Attended a wedding here – parking was a little bit of a challenge because the wedding was in the conference room area, but you had to park down by the rooms and if you were late you probably had to do a jog to the roomThe wedding was beautiful, the room seemed large enough to accommodate the number of guestsThe reception area seemed a little crowded for the number of tables they had in there (had to squeeze or move chairs to get to the dance floor)

The outside could use a little bit of sprucing up, the room was nice but seemed a little dark Would stay here again

Jeff Carlo

Nice clean roomsStaff was very friendlyBartender went out of her way to make a fruity drink after 10

Great selection of breakfast optionsOnly ding was a slow drain in the bathtub Notified staff of the problem and front desk lady would make sure it would be taken care ofWould recommend

6. Holiday Inn Champaign, an IHG Hotel (3-star hotel)

About this hotel

A 4-minute walk from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, this relaxed hotel amid eateries is a 12-minute walk from sports and events at State Farm Center. Willard Airport is 5 miles away.Homey rooms feature Wi-Fi, flat-screen TVs and safes, as well as minifridges, tea and coffeemakers, and living areas with sofabeds. Suites add separate living rooms. Upgraded suites have whirlpool tubs.Amenities include a casual restaurant/bar, a heated indoor pool and a 24-hour fitness center. Breakfast, parking and an airport shuttle are available, as is meeting and event space.

Things You Need to Know

  • 10 min walk to Hessel Park
  • 55 min drive to Central Illinois Regional Airport
  • Guests liked the service
  • Guests liked the beds, mentioned 14 times in reviews
  • Guests mentioned restaurants 15 times

Feedback From Real Customers

Marigrace Furby

Cost of room was way too much for what you get Beds so high cant even get in them easy Bathroom sliding doors sure to pinch toddler fingers

The 1 yr old found a open jolly rancher under the bed by the frame Was not happy at all No free breakfast either Not good for families First room we had the bed frame was totally broken The girl who checked us in was great but having to pay an additional price of close to $10 a person for breakfast just really made this hotel a bad experience Room next door very noisy Very unhappy

TeAundra Taylor

Recently stayed at this facility to attend a wedding and the list of short-comings were far from short Starting with the check-in process, I was double charged because the clerk of the hour seem to have no prior knowledge about completing the transaction I had to call my bank to dispute the charges and had to get the hotel’s manager involved; all within 30 minutes of arriving to the hotel

And even after being made aware of his mistake, the clerk offered no apology nor was I compensated in anyway The room was basic but livable However, there were spiderwebs in our windows and the floors were dirty, which really made me uncomfortable because with COVID still at large you would think they would do a proper and thorough cleaning of their guest rooms Obviously, this hadn’t been done in some time and the spiderwebs are proof of this Not to mention, I was traveling with a toddler The table in our room was broken so we mainly hand-held our plates whenever we dined in the room Some of the staff was polite but others were not Whenever I called down for room essentials (toilet paper, towels, a microwave (there are none in the room)), it took the staff long durations of times to actually bring me the requested items The bedding was stained which had my family and I very uncomfortable to even sleep on the beds And yet, still with so many mishaps, there was still no compensation offered in anyway They don’t offer complimentary breakfast with your stay, there’s a pool and a hot tub; however the jets in the hot tub hardly works; so not really much relaxation there The only plus side of this hotel was that the pool was opened late If the wedding I was attending wasn’t held directly at this hotel, I would have asked for a refund and attempted to go elsewhere It’s safe to say, that when visiting the Champaign area in the future, I’ll definitely be staying at another hotel This was by far the worst hotel I’ve ever had to stay in

Jerry Bruizeman

Very clean rooms Friendly staff Stayed 2/3/22

Driving to Louisiana hit the snowstorm Got off the highway & checked into this hotel They were short of staff, but you wouldn’t have know it because the staff there made you feel welcome Vicki in the bar/restaurant was so friendly and worked her butt off and always smiling Kudo’s to the chef Food was outstanding Hope all the staff got extra pay, cause they had to stay overnight Would recommend this Holiday Inn to anyone

7. Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Champaign North, IL (2-star hotel)

About this hotel

Off Interstate 74, this unpretentious hotel is 2 miles from the Orpheum Children’s Science Museum and 4 miles from the Krannert Art Museum.The laid-back rooms offer free Wi-Fi, flat-screens and microwaves, plus minifridges and coffeemakers. Suites add separate living areas with sofabeds. Kids age 18 and under stay at no charge in a parent’s room.A breakfast buffet, an area shuttle and parking are complimentary. There’s also an indoor pool, an exercise room and a library, as well as a coin-operated laundry and a lounge with a fireplace.

Things You Need to Know

  • Guests praised the beds
  • 7 min drive to Visit Champaign County
  • 47 min drive to Central Illinois Regional Airport
  • One of the few hotels in the area with room service
  • Guests praised the restaurant
  • Guests mentioned “cookies” 15 times
  • Guests praised the breakfast
  • Guests praised the indoor pool

Feedback From Real Customers

Katie Thurston

I want to preface this with this is ZERO reflection on the staff who were absolutely wonderfulWe checked in and went to our room Upon entering I could clearly see that it was outdated

That was not an issue though We dropped our belongings and headed out Upon our return, late at night, I found tons of thingsOur room was slapped together and the bathroom was DIRTY You could clearly see the peeling paint, bubbles of what appeared to be mold UNDER the paint that was used as a bandaid The caulk around the top of the shower was disgusting and also peeling and dirtyThe bathroom door was broken The safety latch of The room was broken Cracks in walls just covered with paint The closet door handle was replaced but no paint was done so it looked odd The fridge did not keep items cold and we lost food to spoilageAll of the issues were things I would consider a maintenance issue I did take pictures so that I would NOT be charged for issues that I did not do Especially after seeing other reviewsWe were here during a tournament and move in week for college so no other rooms we available and by the time we noticed all the other issues, it was late We stayed, I would not stay again thoughThe free breakfast was decent The kids definitely enjoyed the waffles The front desk was great as well as everyone else I ran intoHopefully corporate does something about these issues for future guests

Joanna Glagola

I had a 2 queen sized bedroom The room was close to the side exit so I had easy access to my vehicle The room was exceptionally clean

And it was a nice quiet night Of course you heard the people walking around up stairs and going up and down the stairs starting at 6am but that’s to he expected The bed could he updates because you could feel the break down of it from other people sleeping on it Pillows were awesome Breakfast was ok Eggs tasted good but was very watery Orange juice was the best part The nice lady at the front desk made check in effortless Great room, fantastic price I will definitely stay here again!

Patty Jones

I was fully prepared to give this a 10+

We stayed here on Thursday on our way to Tennessee, and again Monday on our way BACK to Chicago I was so impressed the first time!!! Then I got home and noticed that I was charged $200 because she said someone smoked in that room yesterday or today WE DID NOT SMOKE IN THAT ROOM I told her this, and that we left our cigarettes in our car What I’m thinking is that we, as well as our bags, being in a closed car with two smokers, probably wreaked of our cigarette smoke, hence the smell I didn’t argue, no point in that But we stayed here a 2nd time (on our way BACK) simply because of the wonderful room, and awesome service Why didn’t we get charged the first time, same people, same bags, NO ONE SMOKED in the room, etc??? If it’s a gimmick, CONGRATULATIONS, it’s a good one We won’t be staying here again 🙁 Has anyone else has this problem?

8. Hampton Inn Champaign/Urbana (3-star hotel)

About this hotel

This modern hotel is a 14-minute walk from the Krannert Center for the Performing Arts and a 2.9 mile drive from the Market Place Shopping Center.Contemporary rooms include free WiFi and flat-screen TVs with HD channels, plus custom-designed beds, desks and coffeemakers. Suites add separate living areas, pull-out sofas, minifridges and microwaves.There’s free on-site hot breakfast (daily) and weekday breakfast bags to go, as well as a fitness center and an indoor pool. Additional amenities include a snack shop, a business center and free parking.

Things You Need to Know

  • Guests praised the beds
  • 2 min drive to Champaign County History Museum at the Historic Cattle Bank
  • Guests liked the clean rooms but some complained about the kitchenettes
  • 51 min drive to Central Illinois Regional Airport
  • Guests liked the friendly service
  • Guests disliked the microwaves, mentioned 10 times in reviews
  • Guests mentioned lobbies 19 times
  • Guests liked the breakfast

Feedback From Real Customers

Julie V

Very nice hotel Rooms very modern & clean with lots of little extras, like a night light in the bathroom Beds & pillows very comfortable! A hot breakfast was served & was very good

The food service person was very pleasant, she kept the food stocked up & was constantly cleaning to keep the area looking very clean! Very pleasant staff Highly recommend! This was just an overnight stay

Gabs B

Exceeded our expectations in the best possible way! The breakfast (and service staff) were fantastic and the front desk staff were nothing short of brilliant We really enjoyed our stay here and have happily recommended it to friends A special mention to Alexis at the front desk for making us feel so welcome during our stay and to Carol for accomodating us so patiently at breakfast

ssapp72

No mini fridge or microwave in the room That’s pretty standard everywhere else

even cheaper chains like Super 8’s always have them and EVERY other Hampton I’ve ever stayed in does, except this one DIsappointing especially since I am trying to meal prep the food I eat on the road for my health, and needed a place to keep it cool and saveThe air conditioner is also off by at least 10 degrees ,and not that great Very unimpressed with my room right nowEdit to add: This location also seems especially eager to serve the truly awful “healthy” Chicken and Turkey sausages for breakfast So if the otherwise great Hampton breakfast is a factor in your decision to book don’t count on getting an edible breakfast at this location Spent 4 days at this location this week, and 2 of them the “healthy” chicken sausage was served Wet cardboard mixed with rubber and sage, lightly toasted, would have about the same flavor and consistency I’m back in town for work again next week and this is the final straw that is going to make me book elsewhere for next weekNo microwave and mini fridge in the room, pathetically low water pressure that prevents taking a decent shower, and serving the inedible “healthy” sausage for breakfast 50% of the time I’m just done with this location Most disappointing Hampton stay I’ve ever had

9. Homewood Suites by Hilton Champaign-Urbana (3-star hotel)

About this hotel

Across the street from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign campus, this warm, polished all-suite hotel is also 1 mile from downtown Champaign.The traditional studios offer kitchens and pull-out sofas, plus desks, free Wi-Fi and flat-screen TVs. The 1-bedroom suites have separate living rooms.Freebies include parking, a grocery shopping service and hot breakfast, as well as regular evening socials with snacks. Other amenities consist of an indoor pool, a basketball court and an exercise room, plus a business center, meeting space and a 24/7 convenience store.

Things You Need to Know

  • Guests praised the rooms, which have kitchenettes
  • 5 min walk to Hessel Park
  • Some guests disliked the bathrooms
  • 53 min drive to Central Illinois Regional Airport
  • Guests praised the service

Feedback From Real Customers

TreesEyes

Due to this hotel I will never stay at another Hilton again We booked a room for a baseball tournament and had to check out early because of a medical situation I had explained this to the girl at checkout end of the situation

She said okay I can check you out but didn’t explain the fact that they were still going to charge me anyway for the next day As a big hotel chain, I would think they would have some integrity due to situations that arise out of their customers control But I guess the love for the dollar outweighs making their customers happy and giving them a break when situations arise that we don’t plan on happening When I called the hotel to see about a refund she proceeded to tell me that it was a two night minimum stay, which we had every intention of doing but sometimes stuff happens I am more than happy to give other hotels my money then just ever stay at a place again that will just take your money and not care So much for being a Hilton honors memberUPDATE To Response from hotel:I have contacted Hilton support center already and they said it was the hotel’s discretion I also called your hotel twice and tried talking to the front desk and she stated that, yes, you were taking my money anyway despite our situation because we booked through the baseball organization So, she basically said I was screwed So unless someone calls me from the hotel, I’ll continue with my negative reviews You shouldn’t treat customers this way

Trinity

We booked for three night for a family members wedding After driving from Texas, I’m sure we looked terrible upon arrival but when we entered the foyer, the woman behind the counter, loudly said, “Name?” Not Hi, not Welcome, just “name”

Ok- no big deal We’ve been greeted at dollar stores with more kindness and customer service, but that’s fine She proceeds to ask my husband for his ID and credit card and is visibly annoyed that he didn’t hear her They eventually get us checked in and we get upstairs to our room I agree with other reviewers that the building is a bit run down and the elevator is one example the coffee machine in our room had been incorrectly used and the water compartment was full of thick mold from someone putting the coffee pod in the back (Not the maids fault so made sure to warn her when we saw her in the morning) My husband goes back down stairs to apologize for his part in the uncomfortable interaction at check in and the woman mocks him with an exaggerated face and tone in her voice which was the last straw We canceled the rest of our stay and checked into a different hotel I’m was happy to read other reviewers that mentioned friendly staff That was not our experience at all

Ashley Hanks

At first when you come in it seems very nice Staff was nice But the second you step in the elevator it gies down hill from there

Get onto our floor and the hallway is FREEZING Like literally FREEZING Get into our suit and the cabinets are dusty Dirty dishes still in the dish washer Only 2 towels in the bathroom What hotel only puts two in a room that sleeps 5? The mini stove top still had food stuck to it They give you Palmolive dish soap but no rag or sponge That makes no sense BedsTERRIBLE You can literally see the dips in the mattress with the bed made Woke up several times Fold out couch bedeven worse The walls are SUPER THIN You can hear EVERYTHING I’ve stayed at plenty of Hiltons and places by Hilton and never came across a place so bad The only positive about this place was the staff Very friendly But definitely not worth $452 for 2 nights Avoid if possible

10. Hilton Garden Inn Champaign/ Urbana (3-star hotel)

About this hotel

Off Route 45, this modern conference hotel is a block from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign campus, a 9-minute walk from Memorial Stadium and a mile from Downtown.Warm rooms come with free Wi-Fi, flat-screen TVs and desks, as well as microwaves, minifridges and Keurig coffeemakers.Parking is complimentary. There’s a restaurant, a bar and a 24-hour convenience store. Other amenities include a fitness center, an indoor pool, a hot tub and a coin-operated laundry. There’s also a 24-hour business center and 18,000 sq ft of meeting space.

Things You Need to Know

  • Guests praised the clean rooms
  • 7 min walk to Hessel Park
  • 55 min drive to Central Illinois Regional Airport
  • One of the few hotels in the area with room service
  • Guests praised the friendly service
  • Guests mentioned lobbies 19 times
  • Guests praised the fitness center

Feedback From Real Customers

Alex Anderson

I’ve driven across the country seven times over the last two years so I have stayed at my fair share of hotels and interacted with several different staffs Overall, I would say that this Hilton Garden Inn has been one of my favorite experiences Each member of the staff was very warm and accommodating immediately upon arriving

Kent at the front desk even ran outside to make sure sure my car wasn’t hit while a van backed up in the parking lot The rooms all seem to have fresh paint modern decor and comfortable seating and desk arrangements It felt very comfortable The bar was well stocked and the bartender was very friendly! Plenty of grass spots for my dog to go to the bathroom

Tyler Crow

We had a very great experience at this hotel when we were displaced from our home temporarily due to a lightning strike at our home At the time, we called many hotels in town to see who had availability and could accommodate our whole family for the night The front desk staff was amazing to deal with both on the phone and in person during check in / check out

Rooms were clean, beds were comfortable, and we had an overall great experience

Kickz Ishere

Room was clean, and the front desk employees were very nice, workout room was good, and the location was good also, however the pool and hot tub were dirty, it had a film on the top of it and had bugs in it… also the girl taking breakfast orders was very rude, and you have to pay 499$ for your continental breakfast which surprised me, theOutside sitting area was also dirty with a couch full of leaves, bugs, and cigarette butts Will probably not return…

11. D & W Lake Camping & RV Park

About this hotel

411 W Hensley Rd, Champaign, IL 61822(217) 356-3732

Things You Need to Know

  • Guests praised the bathrooms
  • 47 min drive to Central Illinois Regional Airport
  • Guests praised the service
  • Guests mentioned “Dog park” 13 times

Feedback From Real Customers

JANE TURRELL

Really can’t say enough good about this family owned RV park Owners are very friendly and very helpful Family friendly dog friendly park

Restrooms and showers very clean Sites are clean and large enough for even the big rigs Lake is so very peaceful They offer catch and release fishing and if you like to do a bit of kayaking they have a few of those as well Located just off I- 57 but far enough off not to catch a bunch of the interstate noise

Glen Kitto

What a lovely RV Resort! I can’t say enough about the ownership, which is family owned Super friendly and helpful Such a great surprise in today’s world! A great small lake on property with a new dock for sitting or fishing, plenty of Adirondak chairs and a path all the way around for lovely walks! The pads are all level and spaced out well

Really enjoyed our stay and will be back in a week on our way back home! You won’t regret staying here A great little park Well done to ownership!

John H. Nye

I was amazed to find this beautiful clean campground in the middle of a cornfield in Illinois It was far enough off the highway to avoid the truck noise, yet close enough for access The tree-lined entry is beautiful

The friendly staff came out to my RV and checked me in quickly Took a beautiful evening walk around their pond They only have one washer and one dryer in their laundry room Grounds are exceptionally well cared for We camped at D & W Lake Camping and RV Park in a Motorhome

12. Champaign Garden Inn

  • Address: 411 W Hill St, Champaign, IL 61820
  • Phone: (217) 351-9900
  • Ratings: 4.8 (82 reviews) Excellent
  • Website : Champaign Garden Inn
  • Check-in time: 4:00 PM
  • Check-out time: 11:00 AM
  • Quick Summary: Elegant inn in a 1901 villa with antiques-filled rooms, a TV lounge & free 24-hour breakfast.

About this hotel

In a Queen Anne villa dating from 1901, this elegant inn is a 15-minute walk from the Champaign County History Museum, 2 miles from Interstate 74 and 3 miles from Crystal Lake Park.Featuring antique furnishings, the refined rooms come with free Wi-Fi and flat-screen TVs. All have private or en suite bathrooms; 1 features a whirlpool tub.A complimentary continental breakfast is available 24/7 in a dining room that features floor-to-ceiling windows. There’s also a TV lounge, a library and a wraparound porch, as well as mature gardens.

Things You Need to Know

  • Walking distance to West Side Park and Visit Champaign County
  • 50 min drive to Central Illinois Regional Airport
  • Guests praised the service
  • Guests praised the breakfast

Feedback From Real Customers

Hector Martinez

This B&B should teach a class to others on how to properly host guests The amount of detail that is put into creating an amazing experience is well noticed They seem to have thought of everything besides typical things like directions, parking, and check-in; they include thoughtful items like ice scrapers, umbrellas, and nite-lights

They continental breakfast is so well stocked with a variety of foods/drinks that they should not call it a continental breakfast I can’t wait to return to this lovely home with its convenient walking location to downtown Champaign!

Bob Schneider

We had a great two night stay at this bed and breakfast while visiting our daughter Certainly much better than a corporate chain hotel off the interstate it is a great location

The house and the room we stayed in (St Louis) are beautiful Very attentive owners Check-in and check-out was easy The continental breakfast was very convenient and had lots of choices We’d love to stay here in the summer This will be our “go to” place next time we visit our daughter

Carol Lazarus

We had a phenomenal stay at the Champaign Garden Inn Our room Santa Bárbara was lovely and well appointed with all the necessary toiletries, a very comfortable bed, and excellent wifi and TV reception The house is beautifully kept inside and outside

Breakfast was plentiful and tastefully presented especially under COVID constraints Will definitely visit soon again❣️

13. TownePlace Suites by Marriott Champaign Urbana/Campustown (3-star hotel)

About this hotel

A 2-minute walk from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign campus, this casual hotel is a mile from Memorial Stadium.The informal studios feature kitchenettes and dining tables, plus free Wi-Fi and flat-screen TVs. Upgraded studios add pull-out sofas. Airy suites offer separate living rooms.Complimentary perks include a continental breakfast buffet and parking. There’s also a relaxed lobby bar, an indoor pool and an exercise room, plus a convenience store and a coin-operated laundry.

Things You Need to Know

  • Guests liked the rooms and praised the kitchenettes
  • Walking distance to Main Quad and the Krannert Art Museum
  • Some guests complained about the bathrooms
  • 54 min drive to Central Illinois Regional Airport
  • One of the few hotels in the area with room service
  • Guests mentioned lobbies 10 times
  • The fitness center has weight machines

Feedback From Real Customers

Naseer Ahmed

The first attempt to get to the hotel was a complete miss as it’s situated right in the center of the busy city center There is a narrow passage between two sidewalk edges where you need to turn However, we parked at the public parking lot close by and walked out to the lobby

Only after check in and validating the parking ticket did we find another way to get into the lot using the guest card The hotel asst general manager took care of validating the ticketsThe room is small by hotel standards, especially for 4 guests with 2 queen beds The suite upgrade was not appealing as they had a king bed and a pullout sofa, which is quite uncomfortable to sleep in even for our kids The bathroom is small with a wash outside, and it’s quite compact, almost like Japanese hotel rooms There is only a 32-inch TV with cableThe breakfast service, though complimentary, was a shocker It was close to 8:30 am on a Sunday, and everything was empty except for some ready-made omelet with Velveeta The waffle maker sucked, burning everything, the batter was runny and had too much water coming out which took forever to cook, the waffle iron conditioner was lousy in prepping, a simple option would have been Pam spray The cereal rack was full, but there was no milk to go with the same They were out of coffee in both carafes and had to be requested for refill The scones were dry, the biscuits, too Yet, we had what we could before heading out The coffee, though, was very good and delicious Some of the later guests were disappointed and left without getting any food Hopefully, our experience will be better tomorrowThe pool is open by reservation and quite nice The towels are small and not a full size There’s no toilet inside the pool to get ready There is a coin laundry room that is good

Jared O

Room was clean and the waitstaff was very nice It is close to a lot of Asian cuisine restaurants, some are ok many but many were so busy and seemed dirty from all of the college studentsMy only complaint, which was pretty big, was how noisy an outside appliance was

It was either a cooking hood fan from a restaurant or an AC unit but it drove us nuts all night With windows closed you would still hear a loud high pitched frequency We were in a room facing the parking garage We almost wanted to ask for a different room Luckily I had headphones

Alma P

45 starsTook away 5 star because not easy to park and check-in because you need a hotel key to get into the parking garage

Otherwise our stay was great Staff was super friendly and helpful Greeted each time we came in or out or at least was acknowledged if they were with other customers Amenities in the room were fantastic – large fridge, electric stove, dishwasher and dishes Hotel and room were clean

14. Home2 Suites by Hilton Champaign / Urbana (3-star hotel)

About this hotel

Set off US-45, this unfussy, contemporary all-suite hotel close to casual eateries is 11 minutes’ walk from the University of Illinois and 1 mile from the Krannert Art Museum.Modern studios and 1-bedroom provide complimentary Wi-Fi, kitchens and living areas, as well as pull-out sofas, flat-screen TVs, and desks with ergonomic chairs.Free perks include parking, a 24/7 coffee and tea station, and a breakfast buffet served in a streamlined dining area. There’s also an indoor saltwater pool, a business center, and an outdoor seating area with BBQ grills and a fire pit, plus a coin-operated laundry and a fitness center. Pets are welcome (fee).

Things You Need to Know

  • Guests praised the kitchenettes
  • 5 min drive to the Krannert Art Museum
  • 56 min drive to Central Illinois Regional Airport
  • Guests praised the service
  • Guests praised the fitness center, which has weight machines

Feedback From Real Customers

Felicia Harmon

I enjoyed my stay here! It was clean, easy to check in and nice employees I enjoyed the fact that they are pet friendly and have a designated dog area The two bed room was large and included home amenities like large refrigerator, dish washer, dishes, sink, coffee machine, microwave

One thing I would say is the face towels were stained but that’s my only complaint

George Gabuzda

This could be a nice inexpensive hotel The staff are great but the hotel is in need of renovation It is 6+ years old and everything is the original stuff

Being close to campus, it has had some hard usage Rooms are decent and has all you need for an exended stay What we have experienced is that the business center computers do not work and the smell of chlorine in the lobby is very strong May or may not consider staying at this hotel again until it is fully renovated

Underdog Morphling

Extremely frustrating experience This felt like a one star hotel Here’s why:1

It was very hard to get them clean the room I had to do multiple follow ups to get the room cleaned Like I had to follow up every day and even after that there were days they missed cleaning2 My AC started leaking making the whole carpet wet It took them 2 days to fix it and also several follow ups Imagine walking on cold wet carpet in your hotel room3 I requested to change bedsheet one morning so that my aged handicap mom can rest But even after 3 follow ups they did not change the bed sheet Finally I asked them to give me the sheets and I changed it myself I was like you could have told me 3 hours before and I would have not bothered and changed it my self At least my mom would have slept 3 hours beforeIt literally felt like a one star hotel The facilities are good but service is pathetic

15. Illini Union Hotel (2-star hotel)

  • Address: 1401 W Green St, Urbana, IL 61801
  • Phone: (217) 333-1241
  • Ratings: 4.0 (74 reviews) Very good
  • Website : Illini Union Hotel
  • Check-in time: 3:00 PM
  • Check-out time: 11:00 AM
  • Quick Summary: Modest rooms & suites in a student union-hotel with a food court, a game room & an art gallery.

About this hotel

In the student union of University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, this functional hotel is a 7-minute walk from Krannert Center for the Performing Arts and a 11-minute walk from Spurlock Museum’s ethnography exhibits.Unassuming rooms and suites come with 42-inch flat-screen TVs, minifridges and free Wi-Fi. Some quarters have campus views.Breakfast vouchers and parking are complimentary. A game room features a bowling alley, arcade games and billiards tables (fee for all). Other amenities include an art gallery and a food court.

Things You Need to Know

  • The unassuming rooms have refrigerators and coffee makers
  • Walking distance to Main Quad and the Spurlock Museum
  • The hotel has a boutique store and a game room

Feedback From Real Customers

Amy Haugh

I booked a room, received a confirmation email and then when we arrived, she couldn’t find my reservation Showed her my confirmation number and then noticed I had received an email saying they cancelled my reservation Then after speaking with a manager on the phone, she told me all their rooms are for Covid isolation

Not sure why the employee did not know that prior to the phone conversation Also, why would the website let me reserve a room if this were the case I have always wanted to stay at this hotel since my daughter started her collegiate career at U of I but not sure I will now We ended up at TownePlace suites (Marriott hotel) down the street Luckily they had rooms available and I’m glad our drive was only from Springfield

diane pytel

Update to the review I posted yesterday I tried calling the hotel to speak to a manager twice It went straight to voicemail both times and I did not leave a message

I got a call back from a supervisor who said they had missed my call She said the hotel had received direction yesterday to cancel all reservations so the hotel may serve any COVID cases on campus I am completely sympathetic to this and understand What is unfortunate is this was not communicated to me or even to staff answering the phone when I called after receiving just an email canceling my reservation I understand the need to let everyone know ASAP but how hard is it to put out a 3-4 sentence email explaining it?I honestly can say that I doubt I will ever stay here if this is the way things are handled and their staff is not even given a reason to give people when they call other than ‘we’re headed in a different direction’

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *