pet friendly hotels in Otsego, MI

1. Kara’s Kottages @ W. Main St (3-star hotel)

About this hotel

Set in a bright house close to restaurants in Downtown, this sophisticated B&B is 3 miles from Western Michigan University and 11 minutes’ walk from the Kalamazoo Institute of Arts.The 2 stylish studios with eclectic decor, en suite bathrooms and wood floors feature sitting areas with sofas, and kitchens. They also have flat-screen TVs, Blu-ray players and free Wi-Fi, as well as fireplaces and minibars. The lone suite adds a separate living room. Breakfast items are available for in-room preparation.Off-street parking and bike storage are complimentary. There’s also a furnished patio, a BBQ and a fire pit, along with a coin-operated laundry.

Things You Need to Know

  • Guests praised the kitchenettes
  • Walking distance to the Kalamazoo Institute of Arts and Bronson Park
  • 51 min drive to Gerald R. Ford International Airport

Feedback From Real Customers

Margaret Campbell

Thank you Kara for the ‘home away from home’ feeling at a sad time for our family So many ways that all of us enjoyed our stay Your bedding, a very comfortable sofa, seating outside to view the lightning as the storm rolled in and Bill loved the train going by!Thanks again Kara!

Tiffany Weitzer

We had a terrible time at Kara’s Kottages The house was very dark oh and there was no heat She actually told me while I was on the phone with her “Just make a fire, people have been using fire for heat for thousands of years

” Ah yes, make a fire in an unfamiliar place with no carbon monoxide detectors Ridiculous Would not recommend Kara’s Kottages if you enjoy having heat in your accommodations or a friendly and considerate hostAlso, all of the pantry breakfast items she advertised were expired Some by more than 5 years So grossEdit: Once again, it’s the customer’s fault for the thing that went wrong in the house This is a pattern with her, it seems I do want to point out that there was 1 space heater in the house and she made us go pick up another one from another property But it’s not safe to run space heaters at night so that wasn’t a great solution She offered us alternate (and definitely not equal – not big enough and it was a shared building) in the evening after my son went to sleep Very disappointingAnd yes, there was pancake mix, oatmeal, spices, and oil in the pantry that were expired Not sure why I would make that up? Sharing my experience isn’t ‘revenge’ it’s called an honest review

Joe Weitzer

EDIT TO RESPOND TO OWNER’S RESPONSE: 12/1/2020The owner’s response is incorrect in the following respects:1 There were not 5 space heaters There was 1 space heater, and I had to drive to another property of hers to take a second one from another guest before they checked in (so that guest had no space heater)2

The property she offered was not comparable We had booked a place that was separated due to our concerns over COVID, with two bedrooms to sleep in plus a room for our 8 month old She offered us a 1 bedroom apartment with a pullout couch in a building with other people3 We explained the problem to her on Friday at check-in at 330 pm Granted, that’s late to try to fix a problem However, it is her job to make sure equipment is working before guests arrive I don’t care what Kara does at her own home if she wants to freeze, but if she’s having guests pay over $300/night, she needs to be willing to take bad reviews without lying about her roleOdds are your stay will be fine at Kara’s Cottages but if there is a problem you can be very sure that she will refuse to take responsibility, and even blame you (her paying guest/customer) I think the owner genuinely believes she’s doing her best, which makes it all the more frustrating, because you just can’t reason with people like thisEND EDITORIGINAL REVIEW BELOWWe stayed at a different address for a wedding, but it was run by Kara’s Kottages Upon arrival the furnace wasn’t working, so we spent a couple hours on the phone trying to get Kara to fix it It was a Friday afternoon but didn’t try to fix until 6pm, when we needed to put our son to bed (he’s a baby) There was a frost warning and the house was at 52 degrees which is too cold for a baby Kara told us to keep an old space heater in his room (very dangerous to keep space heaters on overnight in a baby’s room) She was pretty dismissive on the phone and it took a few calls to reach her She offered to move us into another apartment of hers but with COVID we booked a house specifically not to share any space The apartment also did not have space for the 5 of us (4 adults and a baby) in the houseThe heat did not end up getting fixed for the 3 nights we were there (she sent a tech over who troubleshooted it the next day), but we only asked for a refund for the one night since it was only cold for one night (I thought this was a reasonable compromise since it was very uncomfortable) She copied her lawyer and offered us $75 on a $300 room, which was pretty insulting and combativeWe took the $75 because we saw on prior bad reviews that she responds very defensively and tries to litigate against reviewers instead of solving problems (there is a great one where she blames another guest for not liking ants!!!) Overall, the place was fine and it would have been nice if the heat worked, but we spent 2 hours on arrival trying to fix her problem and 4 hours with a heat tech over at our house If she refunded the one night for not providing heat we would have been content but the $75 and copying her lawyer on our complaint is the reason I’m giving a 1 star review Bad business practices I expect this to probably be removed or for Kara to make up some other excuse, but had to get it off my chest after a month of holding in my frustration!!!

2. Castle in the Country Bed & Breakfast Inn (4-star hotel)

About this hotel

Set on 65 acres of private grounds, this luxury bed-and-breakfast lies between Emerson Lake and Minkler Lake, 6.2 miles south of Allegan.Refined rooms feature Wi-Fi, and flat-screen TVs with DVD players, plus 2-person whirlpool tubs and fireplaces. Some have bathroom fireplaces and/or secluded patios.Breakfast is served in an elegant dining room. The property also features a spa, walking trails, an outdoor fireplace and a screened gazebo. Guests have use of kayaks, paddle boats and snowshoes.

Things You Need to Know

  • One of the few hotels in the area with air conditioning
  • 9 min drive to Allegan County Historical Society
  • The hotel has a concierge
  • Guests mentioned “Gazebo” 13 times
  • The hotel has breakfast
  • One of the few hotels in the area with a spa
  • The hotel has Wi-Fi

Feedback From Real Customers

Angie Denler

My husband and I visited the Inn for a romantic getaway for our 1 year wedding anniversary We were very pleased with the staff and the property Everyone was friendly, but respected our privacy

The grounds had various little romantic spots to enjoy each other’s company We enjoyed the paddle boats on the private lake and the hiking trails We stayed in the Camelot Suite and it was amazing! The spacious jacuzzi tub and fireplace in the bathroom were perfect! The breakfast was delicious and the staff provided some snacks, including homemade cookies for us to enjoy We highly recommend this B&B and will absolutely be returning!

mark-julius marcaida

Castle in the Country B&B is such an incredible place to unwind, celebrate, and enjoy any special occasion! My wife and I celebrated our third wedding anniversary here and we can’t believe that we picked such an exquisite place The staff is caring, knowledgeable and very accommodating to every one of our needs The food and drinks are absolutely mouthwatering and delicious, and the scenery is second to none

Plus each room is unique in their own right I don’t give them out easily but this Bed and Breakfast gets a SOLID 5 ⭐️’s from us!


It was perfect! We had our Christian elopement there It was beautiful and stress free They did an amazing job and even made the most delicious gluten free, dairy free wedding cake! Breakfast always came promptly and was delicious

Our room was beautiful and comfortable, we loved the spa tub and rainfall shower The grounds are beautiful The only thing we regret is not taking another day off of work so that we could’ve spent another night there!

3. Bay Pointe Inn (3-star hotel)

  • Address: 11456 Marsh Rd, Shelbyville, MI 49344
  • Phone: (269) 672-8111
  • Ratings: 4.5 (1039 reviews) Excellent
  • Website : Bay Pointe Inn
  • Check-in time: 4:00 PM
  • Check-out time: 11:00 AM
  • Quick Summary: Waterfront hotel offering refined rooms with free Wi-Fi, plus terrace dining & an indoor pool.

About this hotel

Set in a colonial revival-style property on the Gun Lake waterfront, this polished hotel is 8 minutes’ drive from the Yankee Springs State Recreation Area.The bright, refined rooms and suites all include Wi-Fi and cable TV. Some have private balconies with lake or garden views. Suites add fireplaces, whirlpool tubs, and kitchenettes or minifridges and microwaves. There’s also a boathouse offering a full kitchen and a game room with a pool table, and a private lakeside garden suite.Breakfast is provided in the grill restaurant, which has a lakeside patio. There’s also an indoor pool, a hot tub and a fitness center.

Things You Need to Know

  • One of the few hotels in the area with air conditioning
  • 4 min drive to Gun Lake Park
  • One of the few hotels in the area with room service
  • One of the few hotels in the area with a restaurant
  • Guests mentioned “romance” 10 times
  • The hotel has breakfast
  • One of the few hotels in the area with a fitness center

Feedback From Real Customers

Jessi Griffioen

We were married 9/25/2021 on the Lakefront Lawn & Pavilion It was a fabulous day The setting was gorgeous and we were fortunate with the weather

We had a beautiful day that was incredibly photogenic The food was excellent, the staff very accommodating, and our guests had a wonderful timeOur rooms were great There were enough accommodations for the wedding party and my close family Across the two suites in my room block, the girls had plenty of space I’m guessing the guys were OK in their 2 smaller rooms :PWe also rented out the Fireside room the next morning for a brunch Our guests appreciated the private buffet!It was definitely on the pricier side, but I feel like it was an incredible value for a full service venue Just can’t beat the location, and the entire staff delivered a wonderful experience Highly recommend!!!

Sierra Holly

I gave this place two stars because of how kind they treated me during our stay However that was the only positiveThe night we arrived our room was filthy

I immediately contacted the front desk The young lady was kind she got us a different room (which was a downgrade from our original suite) and comped us for the night The next morning we woke up to all kinds of loud noisesWhen I inquired I was told it was due to the fact that they were under construction We were never informed of this prior to booking because of course we would have chosen to stay elsewhere Due to the construction we decided to go out instead of relaxing and escaping society as we had originally planned On our way out I asked if our hot tub could be cleaned while we were away When we returned our room had been straightened up, however unfortunately the tub was still dirty Of course by this time the cleaning staff are gone so the woman at the front desk offered us towels and cleaning spray ( she also asked if I wanted her to clean it and I declined the offer) It was definitely a disappointment to have so many complications on my husband’s birthday get away Despite such unsatisfactory service, we may give them another try, due to their kindness during our stay

4. Holiday Inn & Suites Kalamazoo West, an IHG Hotel (3-star hotel)

About this hotel

This modern hotel is 3 miles from Western Michigan University and 5 miles from downtown Kalamazoo.Classic rooms have coffeemakers, minifridges and flat-screen TVs with cable channels. WiFi is complimentary, while kids 19 and under stay free with an adult.Amenities include a bar and grill (where kids 12 and under eat free), an indoor pool, a games room, fitness and business centers and 3 meeting rooms. Parking is free and there’s a complimentary area shuttle.

Things You Need to Know

  • Guests praised the rooms
  • 5 min drive to Lillian Anderson Arboretum
  • 47 min drive to Gerald R. Ford International Airport
  • Guests liked the service
  • Guests mentioned “Billiard table” 10 times
  • Guests mentioned bars 43 times
  • Guests praised the indoor pool

Feedback From Real Customers

Jacob Bodnar

It is just okayRoom was clean and nice, no real complaints there Although the bed is firmer than normal, so if you sleep on your side that could be an issue

The front desk staff just seemed generally disinterested in being there It seemed they didn’t really want to help youThe pool was unfortunately out of service while we were there, but they did let us use the pool at the sister property in the parking lot However, while that pool was open, it probably shouldn’t have been because it was freezing cold and kind of dirty, I’m not sure any of the equipment was actually onBreakfast was mediocre Okay eggs, dry biscuits, burned bacon

Shannon Seibert

My favorite place to stay in Kalamazoo The hotel is always clean and welcoming! All the employees are very nice One shining star though is Juliana in the restaurant/bar

She’s there for breakfast and dinner Traveling for business we have stayed alot of places but by far she goes above and beyond We are always welcomed by name and the place is immaculate and she makes us feel special every time we eat or enjoy drinks there


Front desk was fast and attentive Our first room the sheets and bed was dirty with hair/stains Called front desk to be moved and they promptly went to check out another room to make sure it was clean

We moved to the new room and it was cleaned better *Only one roll of toilet paper that was on the roll, no extra *The shower pressure was really bad and had to wait about 5 minutes to get warm *Bar and restaurant wasn’t open during our stay, front desk said it was do to low staff availability *Parking was free so that was a plus compared to others downtown that you had to pay 20-40 bucks downtown for parking Pros for this Hotel: free parking

5. Radisson Plaza Hotel at Kalamazoo Center (4-star hotel)

About this hotel

A 6-minute walk from the Kalamazoo Institute of Arts, this upscale conference hotel is also a mile from Western Michigan University. It’s 4 miles from Kalamazoo/Battle Creek International Airport.The stylish rooms feature flat-screen TVs, free Wi-Fi and iPod docks. They also come with coffeemakers and desks with ergonomic chairs, while suites add pull-out sofas, separate living areas, kitchens and/or whirlpool tubs.Breakfast is available for a fee. The hotel has 4 restaurants and a lobby bar, plus a fitness center and an indoor pool with a whirlpool. There’s a 24/7 business center and 22 event rooms, as well as parking (fee).

Things You Need to Know

  • Walking distance to the Kalamazoo Valley Museum and Kalamazoo Downtown Partnership
  • Guests liked the clean rooms but some thought they were small
  • One of the few hotels in the area with room service
  • Guests liked the restaurant
  • Guests mentioned “Ballroom” 13 times
  • Guests praised the breakfast
  • Guests praised the fitness center

Feedback From Real Customers

Doug Milligan

It’s a beautiful hotel with lots of amenities The stores, restaurants, and bars on site are really nice The decorations in the hotel are beautiful especially when lit up

They’re in the middle of renovations, but nothing that lessened my stay My biggest issue was with paying $20 extra for parking a night It’s just a pet peeve of mine, parking should always be included in a hotel stay Hotels located downtown, close to many other places, making it convenient The view from the hotel is also nice

Grace Fleming

It was a beautiful hotel, very clean, with wonderful staff and friendly service The valet was always quick and efficient, and we had zero issues Hair dryers, an ironing board and iron, a safe, and small fridge are all located in the room

There was no microwave, which was a bummer but by no means a big deal It was a nice bonus that their ice from the ice machine is the small crushed ice and was delicious Vending machines were definitely pricey, but thats to be expected

Lois Halsted

Wonderful accomodations

Staff professional and friendly Our conference meals were beyond great(loved all the brownies and cookies) Conference rooms were well stocked with water Our room was clean, well stocked with water, coffee, and toiletries(oops! I guess they don’t go together, my bad) Even with the construction going on at the Radisson I did not feel it detracted from our conference Thank you for taking such great care of us while we attended Great Lakes Rotary PETS March 10-13, 2022

6. Stuart Avenue Inn Bed & Breakfast

About this hotel

Built in 1886 this simple B&B is a 14-minute walk from the Kalamazoo Institute of Arts and 1.3 miles from South Kalamazoo Mall.The 10 individually decorated rooms and suites have TVs with cable channels and DVD players, as well as microwaves, fridges and coffeemakers. Some suites also include full kitchens.Complimentary hot breakfast is provided. There are a couple of guest lounges, a porch and a landscaped garden.

Things You Need to Know

  • 4 min drive to the Kalamazoo Institute of Arts
  • 52 min drive to Gerald R. Ford International Airport
  • Guests praised the service
  • Guests liked “dogs”, mentioned 13 times in reviews
  • Guests praised the breakfast

Feedback From Real Customers

Peter Kelly

We stayed at the inn for 3 nights and were extremely impressed The location is great, and it is super close to K College The rooms were well appointed, clean, and spacious

We were blown away by the service as well, the inn keepers were super friendly, accommodating, and helpful, and the dog (even as someone who doesn’t like dogs too much) was great We also really enjoyed the breakfasts which were all delicious and varied

cynthia davis

We stayed in Ruth’s Room and it was comfortable and beautiful The house and grounds are detailed with period art and various themes The breakfast was delicious

I don’t eat this good at home! The hosts Chris and Dana are friendly and sweet We had a greatexperience and will definitely be back for another getaway to be pampered and stress free

Katharyn Haas

The Stuart Avenue Inn is a wonderful respite in the historic district within walking distance to downtown Kalamazoo We stayed in two rooms on the top floor for my sister’s wedding and we were amazed by the heartwarming touches, caring service, and delicious breakfasts They even let us take a couple of pictures on the bride in their gorgeous garden (with permission)! It’s a great choice if you’re looking for a historic Bed and Breakfast in Kalamazoo

7. Hilton Garden Inn Kalamazoo Downtown (3-star hotel)

About this hotel

Set in an elegant redbrick building, this informal downtown hotel is a 2-minute walk from Kalamazoo train station, 3 minutes’ walk from Arcadia Creek Festival Place and a mile from Western Michigan University.The understated rooms offer Wi-Fi and flat-screen TVs, plus microwaves, minifridges and Keurig coffeemakers. Upgraded rooms add sitting areas with sofas. Room service is available.Amenities include a stylish bar and a convenience store, as well as a gym and an indoor pool. Breakfast and parking are available.

Things You Need to Know

  • Guests praised the clean rooms, which have minibars
  • Guests praised the beds
  • Walking distance to the Kalamazoo Valley Museum and Bronson Park
  • 50 min drive to Gerald R. Ford International Airport
  • One of the few hotels in the area with room service
  • Guests liked the breakfast
  • One of the few hotels in the area with a casino
  • Guests praised the stylish bar

Feedback From Real Customers

Jeffrey Terrian

Front desk staff as well as housekeeping staff are great, friendly and outgoing Room was clean, bathroom was clean Bed was very comfortable and the air conditioning kept it very comfortable for myself and my medical service dog

Bar drinks were rather pricey, next time I will bring my own Killian(?) and Heaven were great and very pleasant and made me feel very welcome both Thursday and Saturday night Friday night bar tenders were more interested in talking about relationship stuff rather than clearing tables or serving guests Spinach artichoke dip was not the greatest unless you like it pureed and bland Other than that one night, I had an amazing stay And I like how the building is secure at ALL times Front desk staff, Killian and Heaven I want to thank you for making my service dog and my stay very enjoyable

Scar Baby

The restaurant is in obvious disarray, new bartenders need more training Couldn’t make my husband a decent Manhattan, two of them up there googling it I understand not knowing everything but that’s a pretty staple drink

We’re locals and probably won’t be back For the price and environment we expect great cocktails We visited a few months ago and had the most amazing bartender I’ve personally had, mix up some spicy margaritas (never even heard of that!) that’s why we came back but she was not there!!

joseph plaza

2 hotels at this location! The Home 2 suites is much nicer and way cleanerThe Garden inn has a nice lobby and common area but the housekeeping standards are way lower then the Home 2 at this same locationHair on the sheets, nose mucus on the shower curtain, food debris on the tables in the room

Stay at the Home 2 if you have to choose

8. Schnable Lake Family Campground

About this hotel

1476 115th Ave, Otsego, MI 49078(269) 672-7367

Things You Need to Know

  • 5 min drive to Big Lake
  • Guests praised the service

Feedback From Real Customers


Loved staying here We stayed in one of the 3 cabins The staff and camp locals are very friendly and the cabins and restrooms were very clean! The cabins did not have a bathroom but the restroom and showers are just across the street

The showers have great water pressure and two curtains so that you can shower and get dressed without standing in the shower to do it It was hard water, so the pics may look a little funnyloved how my hair felt though (if you know, you know) The cabin bed wasn’t very comfortable but it was better than a cot or a tent so can’t complain too much Had a fridge, microwave, coffee pot, small table with 2 chairs, an oscillating fan, window ac unit, overhead light, floor lamp, drawers, and a loft with a thick mat We had to bring our own linens, pillows, and towels There are 2 nice chairs on porch along with a fire ring, small outdoor grill and picnic table There is a splash pad for kids (pirate theme), a beach area, playgrounds, swim area, camp store, and a bounce pad? At least I think that’s what it was We didn’t have kids with us so didn’t use those things but drove past them Would definitely consider staying here again

Shannon Shuryan

The owners are amazing!! Kathy and Scott pour their heart and soul into this place and every year we see even more amazing things happening The campers have become more like family than friends We are so lucky to have found this gem and can’t wait to make even more memories here

Its our 2nd year and our kids love it! From swimming, fishing, golf cart trails, bon fires, splash pads, poker runs, kids crafts, etc, there is always something fun to do ♡ This has now become our home away from home and the place where we can unwind, relax, and re-group from long, stressfulworkweeks

9. Allegan Country Inn

  • Address: 1532 34th St, Allegan, MI 49010
  • Phone: (616) 307-5803
  • Ratings: 4.8 (36 reviews) Excellent
  • Website : Allegan Country Inn
  • Check-in time: 4:00 PM
  • Check-out time: 11:00 AM
  • Quick Summary: Quaint lodging on 14-acre grounds with 4 guest rooms, plus a free homemade breakfast & chocolates.

About this hotel

Set on 14 acres of lawns, ponds and woodland, this cottage-style lodge is 2.2 miles from Littlejohn Lake Co Park and 3.5 miles from Padgham Field Airport.The 4 cozy guest rooms feature gas fireplaces, air-conditioning and HDTVs with cable channels and DVD players. Some have private bathrooms and Jacuzzi tubs.A complimentary home-cooked breakfast is provided, as well as free homemade chocolates in the evening. WiFi access is available on-site.

Things You Need to Know

  • 4 min drive to Littlejohn Lake
  • Guests praised the breakfast

Feedback From Real Customers

Wendell Hendershott

Our first good impression lasted throughout our stay here Breakfast was delicious, accompanied by fresh, ripe fruit Our attentive and conscientious host made our stay very delightful

One of the things I most enjoyed (we were here in July) was taking my coffee out to the porch after breakfast to listen to the birds, take in the well manicured grounds, and feel the gentle breeze

Linda Dockweiler

The best place ever to stay Sheila the owner, is very attentive to your needs She will make whatever you want for breakfast however, I would definitely leave that up to her because she makes the most fantastic breakfast ever! The rooms are comfortable and each has a theme

This is the only place I stay when I visit Allegan I have never been disappointed

10. Henderson Castle Resort Inn Spa Restaurant Venue (3-star hotel)

About this hotel

In an opulent 1895 mansion, this boutique hotel in the West Main Hill neighborhood is a 5-minute drive from the Kalamazoo Institute of Arts and the Kalamazoo Valley Museum.The lavish, traditionally decorated rooms all include private bathrooms, and have free Wi-Fi and flat-screen TVs, as well as details such as a private balconies, hand-carved bedframes or hand-painted ceilings.A chic French restaurant serves breakfast, high tea and dinner. There’s a rooftop hot tub and a spa/wellness center, as well as a dramatic underground wine cave with a patio and a sky deck. Parking is available.

Things You Need to Know

  • 4 min drive to the Kalamazoo Institute of Arts
  • Some guests complained about the kitchenettes
  • Guests mentioned the service is friendly
  • Guests mentioned “Massage” 82 times
  • Guests praised the breakfast
  • Guests praised the views
  • Some guests disliked the nightlife

Feedback From Real Customers

David Ottolini

We had a great time staying at this historic landmark Henderson Castle felt like a museum that you could stay at Each room had a theme that looks like a display that you can enjoy

There is a lot of details worth checking out If you get there early enough, you can explore the history The employees were very helpful when we arrived and they were very understanding for any concerns that me or my friends had while staying there The hot tub on the roof was easy to use and exciting for the winter timeWe are considering coming back again either in the fall or some time next year Thank you for a memorable experience

Stephen Hulbert

I can not say enough wonderful things about my most recent stay at the Henderson Castle From the moment we had any contact with the staff, every moment was luxurious Julie greeted us warmly at the door and escorted us up to our wonderful room, the “Italian Suite

” The room was beautifully decorated with champagne, roses, rose peddles and chocolate covered strawberries Later that evening we sat in the spirits lounge under the direction of Shawna the most fantastic bar tender I have ever met She truly knows how to make the best chocolate Martini Not only can she make the best drinks but she is also quite the conversationalist engaging all the guests in conversation and truly getting to know them and make them feel right at home Jaquar, the hotel manager was also amazing in making sure our stay was wonderful I can not say enough wonderful things about my stay at this beautiful Historic Inn I hope to be back to visit there very soon This staff and castle Rocks!!!

haley hernandez

if you want a little getaway come to The Henderson castle! Stayed in the Dutch room such a beautiful room with a king size bed Hot tub on the roof time so cool and an amazing view of the city of Kalamazoo We did have to wait for the last spa to be over cause the staircase is in the same room

But when the last spa appointment is over then the door is open to go up to the hot tub Opened for a few hours for guests to use so thats fine because we still enjoyed it! It was not the workers fault We had a few drinks at the bar with an amazing ceiling so beautiful and unique So glad we got a little history at the front desk because she is the tour guide so she knew a lot about the castle! Cant wait to come here again! I hope my review helps you guys to stay here!!

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *